2013 CAF draw to be undertaken tonight

By Nthambeleni Gabara

Durban – The stage is set for the 2013 African Cup of Nations (Afcon) final draw where the 16 participating national teams will know whom they will be facing and in which city they will be based for the group stage matches.

Later this evening, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) will conduct the final draw at the Chief Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre in Durban. The event, which will be addressed by President Jacob Zuma, will be broadcast live.

The Afcon tournament kicks off in South Africa on January 19 and will run until February 10.

The 2013 line-up includes the defending champions Zambia, Ivory Coast, Mali, Ghana, Tunisia, Burkina Faso, Morocco, Niger and Angola, and Cape Verde, Algeria, DR Congo, Ethiopia, Nigeria, Togo and the host South Africa.

Soccer City will stage the January 19 opening double-header and the final at the 93 000-seat Soccer City stadium with the other 29 games divided between Durban, Nelspruit, Port Elizabeth and Rustenburg. – SAnews.gov.za